GSL – The GNU Scientific Library

It’s been one long week since my fifth sem began and we were already loaded with “Home work” in Scientific Computing (a.k.a Numerical Methods), the subject which (unfortunately) falls within my very small circle of favourites.One of the assignment was to code Newton Raphson and Regular Falsi method (God! I love programming).I had no net in my house (not yet!) and so wasn’t able to dig up much info about how to differentiate and integrate things.By sheer Luck I came across this library (GSL) when I was browsing in the OSS Lab.

The Library :

The library has functions to get things working from a simple hyperbolic function to differentiation/integration (which I needed) to the implementation of Newton method itself.Its the one library you would compulsorily need to program mathematic appln with ease.Use Synaptic or http://www.gnu.org/software/gsl/ to get it. Its Documentation is an absolute necessity void of which you can’t do anything using it. Though I got it installed to my local dirs properly I faced problems compiling problems and (again) the documentation came to help.

Compiler Options : gcc -Wall -I/usr/local/include NewtonRaphson.cpp

Linker Options : gcc -lgsl -lgslcblas -lm NewtonRaphson.o

Execution : ./a.out

And my code for both the methods were reduced to a mere 50 LoC and I felt wild enough to feel a sense of achievement 🙂 .

P.S : I had given a copy of this library to Dakshina who currently is trying to link it with the pitiful TC that is predominantly used in our Dept.

~ by toolweb on June 25, 2008.

One Response to “GSL – The GNU Scientific Library”

  1. pitiful TC 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
